Daily Archives: January 15, 2010

The gossip blogs are calling us James. It’s a combination of Jenna and James.

Dear Tina,

Well done. Well DONE Tina. 30 Rock returned last night with two all new episodes. I’m not sure if it was because my desire to work for you was reinvigorated at the start of the new year or if it was the delicious egg sandwich I had made myself for dinner but I was having a time and half from 8 to 9. It probably was the former because it only took me about 15 minutes to eat my sandwich.

James Franco dropped in, playing an uncharacteristically pale version of himself in the first episode. Maybe he looked so pale because he was wearing all black. I know when I wear all black I look like an extra from Doubt. I love when actors play themselves on television and use the opportunity to show us they don’t take themselves so seriously. Examples of NOT this would be any well known actress that has ever guest starred on Entourage. I want to see Jessica Alba playing a meth head version of herself having an affair with Ken Jeong. I have plenty more ideas where that came from Doug Ellin!

Bringing it back to the episode, James Franco entered into a contractual relationship with Jenna in hopes of dispelling rumors that he was currently engaged in a “Japanese moe [pronounced mo-ay] relationship where socially dysfunctional men develop deep emotional attachments to body pillows with women painted on them.” The object of James’s desire was indeed a blue and purple body pillow with a Japanime girl on it wearing a red bikini. I would have loved to be a fly on the wall during the body pillow selection process. I’m sure if this episode comes with audio commentary on the DVD someone will say “we actually spent hours and hours talking about what exactly his body pillow should look like.” Lines like this come standard in all audio commentaries but rest assured 30 Rock team, you nailed it! I would go so far as to suggest the props department submit this episode for Emmy consideration. I don’t think they award Emmys for props but it wasn’t until Pixar came along that the Oscars finally created the Best Animated Feature award so I would go for it anyway. The point being, whoever found that pillow (and I kind of hope it just came from James Franco’s apartment) deserves some critical acclaim.

I did fear that this story line was going to end with Jenna breaking up with him in her dressing room. If that had been the case it would have been a fairly unmemorable stint for Mr. Franco. It felt odd watching Jenna make a healthy relationship decision; one that valued herself over copious amounts of attention. It’s like seeing the trampy girl you went to school with suddenly in a committed relationship. On the outside you’re saying “good for you!” but on the inside you’re thinking “really? But last weekend I saw you give the DJ your underwear so he’d play Party in the U.S.A.” Alas, the episode took a turn for the better and (SPOILER ALERT!) James Franco shacked at Liz Lemon’s avec body pillow. I feel like Liz Lemon and I have a lot in common. As my good friend Lara wrote in an email to me last November (when this blog was just a twinkle in my eye) “Catherine your blog would be redundant with Liz Lemon’s.” So the turn of events in last night’s episode was very comforting for me. It made me hopeful that when I move to New York to work for you, I too will find myself reeling in all kinds of celebrities with social issues.

The true highlight of the episode may have been Alec Baldwin in a turtleneck but that is neither here nor there.

I’m going to start a segment for all 30 Rock episode recaps titled “Tracy said it best.” A segment dedicated to what I declare Tracy’s best line of the episode. Tonight’s winner goes to:

Over the break I forgot what floor we worked on…Six! I knew it was a character from Blossom but I couldn’t find the Joey Russo button.

The episode that followed may have actually been the better of the two if only for its use of black light humor. That normally only gets laughs on investigative episodes of 20/20. Or on Room Raiders. Gross. Anyway, new TGS actor Danny has proved himself to be a welcome addition to the show (unlike Kara Dioguardi…ok I’ll stop!). He looks like Joaquin Phoenix before he started leaving gum on the underside of talk show hosts’ desks. I just hope that at some point in the near future we get to see Danny as Robot Ryan Seacrest or David Hasselbot. Also, Liz Lemon has hooked some major…for lack of interest in finding a better word…hotties. The Hair, Floyd, Danny. For lack of interest in finding a better catchphrase…you go girl!

It’s hard for me to not enjoy the Tracy story lines of any episode. I think Jon Hamm said it best when he told Conan O’Brien “Everybody should have the experience of meeting Tracy Morgan for the first time.” But this one definitely wasn’t his best. I think part of this had to do with the German writer. She has been featured in the writer’s room throughout the series but sometimes when nonspeaking characters like this are suddenly a part of the dialogue it feels awkward and pushed. Like when Annyong on Arrested Development started saying more than just “Annyong.” I thought “alright we tried that now get rid of him.” Nevertheless, Tracy said it best:

K. what’s wrong with me? First I don’t want to go to strip clubs and then I get angry at the hilarious dude who says something awesome!

Finally, Tina, what you were doing during the scene when Jack tells Danny that he is in love with you is why you make this show better than any other comedy on television. Above I talked about James Franco playing himself and how much I like it when actors are willing to make fun of themselves. This is true but at the same time the acting in these instances almost always becomes very pointed and showy. Even in James’s case. It’s as though there was an asterisk attached, “Yes I’m acting arrogant or crazy but don’t worry it’s just pretend!” I know you are playing the character Liz Lemon, but I also know that a lot of Liz (ie the feet thing) comes from your personal point of view. I love that you are willing to be the butt of the joke, donning a mustache, having your teeth fall out, subscribing to cheese magazines, etc etc etc. all in the name of comedy. I wish there were more actresses out there who really wanted to earn their laughs. Wearing a poncho and putting braces on straight teeth does not count Ugly Betty.

30 Rock Quote of the Day:

Jenna: Mickey Rourke wants to take me camping!
Liz: Deal breaker, Jenna! God!

1 Comment

Filed under 30 Rock, NBC, Television, Tina Fey