What sports does NBC have these days? Off-season tennis.

Dear Tina,

I’m heading into the city in about ten seconds. Well ten seconds plus the amount of time it takes me to take a shower, get ready, and make my bed. I hate leaving my home for the night and returning the next day to an unmade bed. It’s so slovenly. So…in about an hour.

This is much earlier than I I usually like to head into the city on a Saturday afternoon because history shows that earlier I enter a social setting, the earlier I decide (or am asked) to leave it. Jokes. But really it would have been nice to squeeze in an afternoon nap.

As a Chicagoan who doesn’t watch sports, I am averagely excited about tonight’s game 1 of the Stanley Cup Finals featuring the Chicago Blackhawks (On NBC! Bum bum bum). Featuring? Is that how I should phrase it? I mean, it’s what I would say if I was referring to participants in a play so…that’s ok, right? Probably not. Like how sometimes in high school I would accidentally refer to students’ athletic practices as “rehearsal.” I’m in way over my head.

I was on the phone with my friend earlier and she was telling me that the venue where I am planning on watching the game is going to be packed tonight. “Like that day we went to KAMS [a bar at the University of Illinois] really early for that game? What was that game for?” It was for the NCAA Men’s Basketball national championship featuring the University of Illinois. A fleeting memory, apparently. She and I have a great deal in common.

So yes tonight I will be cheering on the Blackhawks and, if a fan will let me, asking a lot of questions. And more likely than not, standing atop my soap box to denounce the National Hockey League for allowing such barbaric fighting to occur on the ice. I am going to be a treat.

Go Chicago!

30 Rock Quote of the Day:

Tracy: Are you a large child or a small adult?

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicago, Chicago Blackhawks, NBC, Tina Fey

Leave a comment