I got to get my act together. Even Frank owns that chicken ranch in Nevada. He thought he was buying a whore house.

Dear Tina,

I am officially on day 2 of project unemployment. Maybe I should consider renaming this summer “project get a job.” It has a bit more “glass half full” kind of tone. Yesterday was action packed. Not only did I confirm a time for an interview, submit my resume for a recent opening at a prominent Chicago theatre, and contact a woman for a possible sit-down to discuss how the hell I’m ever going to get a job, but I also washed all my delicates! That’s a project that deserves an afternoon all to itself. Today kind of plateaued job search wise, but I did manage to write four Dear Tina entries. After this one, I’ll be all caught up. You may have noticed the extended delay last week in Dear Tina generating new postings. Now that I have the summer off, hopefully this will not be a recurring problem. Especially when it seems a little inauthentic to write about how I’m feeling Monday evening when it’s actually the following Sunday afternoon.

I also got in contact with a leasing agent in Chicago and was confronted for the first time with the reality of how the rest of the world views my unemployment. While I think of it has this courageous step I made to pursue my dreams, this guy was spewing out “co-signer” as soon as I began my answer to his question of whether or not I have a job with, “Well…” He was less than thrilled for me. But congratulated me on being a non-smoker so…thanks Officer Friendly.

I would like to share one news item I stumbled upon yesterday. An excerpt from an article found on tvguide.com, America’s best news source.

This will not be Pavelka’s first stab at acting: In 1999, he played a young version of Chuck Norris’ Cordell Walker on Walker, Texas Ranger under the stage name Jake Landrum.

The article referring to former Bachelor Jake Pavelka guest starring on Drop Dead Diva.

Jake Landrum? Was Hank Higgins taken? You know who I feel most sorry for? The airline pilots who are affected by association. As if there wasn’t enough job-related stress with that profession, they have to have one of their own looking for part-time work on the Lifetime network. Not cool, Landrum.

30 Rock Quote of the Day:

Jack: Kenneth, do you have a minute?
Kenneth: I sure don’t.
Jack: Kenneth, you and I both have a lot in common. We’re both hard workers. When I was your age I was putting myself through college in Boston, paddling swan boats for the tourists.
Kenneth: Is that a euphemism for some kind of sex worker?

Leave a comment

Filed under Apartments, Employment, Jake Pavelka, Lifetime, The Bachelor, Tina Fey

Leave a comment