Daily Archives: June 18, 2010

Yo! This blackout messed me up. I didn’t get to debut my dragon face.

Dear Tina,

Day 2.

So the real reason behind no Dear Tina posts all weekend doesn’t necessarily involve a lack of laptop (although I really didn’t bring it with me so I guess it does…), but rather the Michigan storm of the century that left the Allen Open without power from start to finish.

I arrived around 3 in the afternoon just in time for a dip in the pool and a shower that would leave me smelling not like a pool. Shortly after I finished drying my hair (phewph), the power was gone and I was left to ice the dessert I brought by candlelight. Just like in colonial times. They used tubs of Pillsbury, right?

I have to say this. I don’t know what other families would have done when left with the task of feeding 30 people without electricity, but I can tell you that the Allens are survivors who love a nice meal so we made it work. We made it work for a total of six meals starting with dinner on Friday and ending with lunch on Sunday. It was a feat that could not have been accomplished without a sincere appreciation for all the nuts that comprise this family. Nor paper plates.

We were told to use plastic cups but honestly the idea of my mom agreeing to drink wine out of a plastic cup was about as likely as seeing Ted Haggard at the Pride Parade. It just wasn’t going to happen.

By the time the weekend was over, we realized that everything is easier with a stove but not necessarily more fun. The annual 4 am conversations were held by candlelight and no one ever strayed from the group to check the score of the game on television. It was a delight. But Dear Tina was out of commission.

My B.

30 Rock Quote of the Day:

Cerie: Hey, guess what everyone! I’m engaged.
Frank: Hey, this isn’t going to change the way you dress or eat lollipops is it?
Cerie: No.
Frank: Oh. Then, congratulations.


Leave a comment

Filed under Allen Open, My B, Tina Fey