Daily Archives: June 27, 2010

I’m not gay. I’m bi-larious!

Dear Tina,

Day 11.

I was at Chicago’s Gay Pride Parade. I woke up at 10 am, a brutal hour for reasons you will understand when you read Saturday’s post. By 11:30 am I was at minibar with a cocktail, a plate of delicious minibar buffet brunch, and a gay man who repeatedly pushed away bangs that didn’t exist on his forehead. This bar was also home to the most beautiful man I have ever had the privilege of seeing in real life. You may have spotted him if you were walking down Halsted. He was the one dancing in the window of minibar wearing briefs and, well, nothing. He might not have stood out from the four men to his left doing the exact same thing…….

What I love about this parade is that it brings together such an eclectic group of people all there to celebrate a part of our society that is so often shamed and undermined. We get to have the Chief of Police Jody Weis waving to the crowd in a convertible, followed by this guy:

That picture is actually vintage, Gay Pride Parade circa 2009, but the man is wearing a dress made entirely of Jewel grocery bags. He needed some attention. The point is the same.

Anyway, after nearly eight hours of standing, dancing, and walking in the sun, I was sure my body was going to give up on me. On the walk back to my car, which felt endless, I passed a child being pushed in a stroller and I have never felt a wave of jealousy wash over me so intensely.

I went to bed 20 minutes after I got home. Approximate time: 9:30, and Dear Tina was left untouched.

My B.

30 Rock Quote of the Day:

Tracy: I’m up for anything.
Josh: Well I thought me and you could play Seinfeld and Bill Cosby.
Tracy: No. I don’t like that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicago, Gay Pride Parade, minibar, My B, Tina Fey