Look, Jack, I don’t have a lot of personal life experience, but if I have learned anything from my Sims family…

Dear Tina,

Since becoming an adult, a label I felt I deserved upon moving out of the house, I’ve purchased two pieces of furniture (neither of which I could really afford).  A five-drawer dresser and a oversized chair for the living room. For this, I pat myself on the back as though I’ve furnished myself a lifestyle. When in reality, if my roommate were to move out and take all of the items she brought with her, there would be a lot of staring at walls and sitting on laps happening in that apartment.

It’s a good start but the reality is, all things “life” related cost a hell of a lot of money. Money I for serious do not have. It is during these times of high-cost living and small-figure income, that I reflect on my own upbringing and marvel at the fact that two adults were financially responsible and successful enough to raise (and entertain) three children.

The mattress I currently sleep on was a combo birthday-house warming present provided by my parents. And it occurred to me that this was probably the fifth mattress they’ve purchased on my behalf since 1986. And that’s not all. There were dressers and hangers. New clothes every season during the growth process. Cars and carseats. Barbies and Barbie houses. Six sessions of park district soccer that were most beneficial in solidifying my place in the theatre. Chicken nuggets, birthday parties. Not to mention forking over $500+ at the end of every week to a babysitter. Not to be outdone by four years of higher education. Not to be outdone by consultations over the phone on what temperature to cook a baked potato. I guess that’s free, but still. Good Lord. Just the other night I took the train to my friend’s apartment instead of a cab in order to save $1.75.

Taking care of myself is hard. Taking care of a family? Egad. It’s an impressive feat. A selfless one at that.

So thank you mom and dad. For spreading the wealth.

30 Rock Quote of the Day:

Tracey Jordan: You are wise, Liz Lemon. Like a genetically manipulated shark.

Leave a comment

Filed under Tina Fey

Leave a comment